Solrutten - Aurinkoreitti


The name ”Solrutten” translates to The Sunny Coast Route in English. The concept was originally formed in the 1970’s. The operators who developed The Gulf of Bothnia’s sea lane network at that time came up with the name. At first this name was only assigned to the sea lane which starts in the Siipyy peninsula and reaches all the way to Ohtakari. The area is Finland’s least rainy and the Valassaaret – Tankar area has proved to have the most hours of sunshine per year. The summer nights are light. The sun only sets for a few hours behind the horizon.

Today the Sunny Coast Route stretches through 13 bilingual municipalities and towns’ sea areas. Out of these municipalities all except Kokkola belong to the province of Ostrobothnia. Kokkola belongs to the province of Central Ostrobothnia. Luoto, Korsnäs and Närpiö are almost entirely Swedish speaking and all other municipalities are bilingual. 

As the municipalities and the regional council mediate a lot of information to travelers, we have on our part decided to create our own website based on the municipality division. In this way sailors can easily access information about the municipality they are passing through and thus making information search a lot easier